top of page
  • Writer's pictureAayushi

Most Anticipated Books of 2020

Updated: Sep 13, 2020

My list of anticipated books is quite meager in comparison to some people's 100 strong lists, but I know I'll be adding to it throughout the year as I hear about new releases from twitter, booktube, and other book blogs. My lists is also quite late in comparison to most people's lists. That one's on me being in college, but also lazy.


Still, every single book on this list makes me vibrate with excitement, so let's just get on with it. They're listed by release date.


1. Batman and the Outsiders, volume 1 by Bryan Edward Hill

January 28th, 2020

"When the quest for justice drives Batman into morally ambiguous territory, he calls in the most moral man he knows: Jefferson Pierce, a.k.a. Black Lightning, and his team of elite operatives known as the Outsiders! Several years ago Batman personally put the Barrera family into hiding after they suffered through terrible experiments at the hands of an organization called The Ark. Now all but one of them has turned up dead ... and Batman needs to locate Sofia Barrera before the wrong people get their hands on her--and her surprising power! But it wouldn't be Batman without a hidden agenda, would it? And when Black Lightning, Katana, the Signal and Orphan find out what Batman is really up to, their very loyalty will be called into question!"


This comic series is going to make my year, honestly. If you follow me on twitter, you might have some sense of how much I love Dick Grayson, aka Nightwing. But I also adore the entire Batman family in general, and this series focuses on some of the most overlooked batfamily characters. I adore Duke and Cass, and I can't wait to have the collected volumes of this new Batman and the Outsiders reboot so that I can follow these new Rebirth versions of these lovely characters. Especially as I'm going through 2016 Batman run, I'm excited to see where this story grows and hopefully foray further into non Bat-related DC characters, something I have woefully failed to do so far.


February 4th, 2020

"Cassandra Cain, teenage assassin, isn't exactly Batgirl material...not yet, at least. But when Batgirl goes missing from Gotham, can Cassandra defy her destiny and take on a heroic mantle of her very own? Cassandra Cain is the daughter of super-villains and a living weapon trained from birth to be the ultimate assassin. But that doesn't mean she has to stay that way, right? But how do you figure out who you're supposed to be when you've been trained to become a villain your entire life? After a soul-shattering moment that sends Cass reeling, she'll attempt to answer this question the only way she knows how: learning everything she possibly can about her favorite hero--Batgirl. But when Cass's father threatens the world she has grown to love, she'll have to step out of the shadows and overcome her greatest obstacle--that voice inside her head telling her she can never be a hero."


Keeping in theme with the last one, here's another story featuring Cassandra Cain, one of the most underrated members of the batfamily and frankly one of my favorite superhero characters ever. In the comics, Cass is a skilled fighter and extremely loyal to her adopted family. This novel, part of the series of graphic novels DC announced last year, focuses on Cass' backstory and her growth into the amazing superhero she becomes. Sarah Kuhn is an amazing author and the art style looks fantastic, so I cannot wait to read this story!


3. Yes No Maybe So by Becky Albertalli and Aisha Saeed

February 4th, 2020

"YES; Jamie Goldberg is cool with volunteering for his local state senate candidate—as long as he’s behind the scenes. When it comes to speaking to strangers (or, let’s face it, speaking at all to almost anyone), Jamie’s a choke artist. There’s no way he’d ever knock on doors to ask people for their votes…until he meets Maya.

NO; Maya Rehman’s having the worst Ramadan ever. Her best friend is too busy to hang out, her summer trip is canceled, and now her parents are separating. Why her mother thinks the solution to her problems is political canvassing—with some awkward dude she hardly knows—is beyond her.

MAYBE SO; Going door to door isn’t exactly glamorous, but maybe it’s not the worst thing in the world. After all, the polls are getting closer—and so are Maya and Jamie. Mastering local activism is one thing. Navigating the cross-cultural romance of the century is another thing entirely."


I think I said "yes!" outloud when I saw this book was coming out. I'll admit, while I love Simon vs. the Homosapiens Agenda, I've always been lukewarm on her other books. However, this concept is pure gold, and Aisha Saeed makes me SO EXCITED. I cannot wait to watch the fluff of two teens getting together as explore interracial relationships, anxiety, family issues with a backdrop of local activism and politics. Also this cover is absolutely adorable! I think most of the book twitter is extremely excited for this book, so I'm definitely not alone in my anticipation.


4. Of Curses and Kisses by Sandhya Menon

February 18th, 2020

"Will the princess save the beast? For Princess Jaya Rao, nothing is more important than family. When the loathsome Emerson clan steps up their centuries-old feud to target Jaya’s little sister, nothing will keep Jaya from exacting her revenge. Then Jaya finds out she’ll be attending the same elite boarding school as Grey Emerson, and it feels like the opportunity of a lifetime. She knows what she must do: Make Grey fall in love with her and break his heart. But much to Jaya’s annoyance, Grey’s brooding demeanor and lupine blue eyes have drawn her in. There’s simply no way she and her sworn enemy could find their fairy-tale ending…right? His Lordship Grey Emerson is a misanthrope. Thanks to an ancient curse by a Rao matriarch, Grey knows he’s doomed once he turns eighteen. Sequestered away in the mountains at St. Rosetta’s International Academy, he’s lived an isolated existence—until Jaya Rao bursts into his life, but he can't shake the feeling that she’s hiding something. Something that might just have to do with the rose-shaped ruby pendant around her neck… As the stars conspire to keep them apart, Jaya and Grey grapple with questions of love, loyalty, and whether it’s possible to write your own happy ending."


So this book hits just about every sweet spot for me. Cute romance, with desi rep, mixing desi people and culture with western stories and fairy tales, and also Sandhya Menon, whose books were the first Indian-American ownvoices writing I'd ever read. When Dimple Met Rishi was one of the reasons I joined the book community online, and From Twinkle, with Love, was the first ARC I ever received. This book is a contemporary Beauty and the Beast retelling, which is always a win, and will kick off a series of fairy tale adaptations. I literally cannot wait to read this book, and will definitley be writing all about it as soon as I can get my hands on a copy!


5. Wild at Heart by K.A. Tucker

March 3rd, 2020

"Calla Fletcher returns to Toronto a different person, struggling to find direction and still very much in love with the rugged bush pilot she left behind. When Jonah arrives on her doorstep with a proposition she can’t dismiss, she takes the leap and rushes back to Alaska to begin their exciting future together. But Calla soon learns that even the best intentions can lead to broken promises, and that compromise comes with a hefty price—a log cabin in interior rural Alaska that feels as isolating as the western tundra. With Jonah gone more than he’s home, one neighbor who insists on transforming her into a true Alaskan, and another who seems more likely to shoot her than come to her aid, Calla grapples with forging her own path. In a world with roaming wildlife that has her constantly watching over her shoulder and harsh conditions that stretch far beyond the cold, dark, winter months, just stepping outside her front door can be daunting. This is not the future Calla had in mind, leaving her to fear that perhaps she is doomed to follow in her mother’s fleeing footsteps after all."


This book is a sequel to The Simple Wild, an adorable romance novel I read last year, that I did not expect to love as much as I did. Honestly, I picked up the first book because of how pleasing the cover was to me, and this book has continues that trend. I had felt the last book had ended a bit abruptly, but was absolutely not expecting there to be a sequel. However, I was so, so excited to see this show up on goodreads when it did, and I'm so excited to see the story of Calla and Jonah continue. It's coming out right around when finals hell will begin for me, so I'll definitely need the cute fluff to distract myself.


6. The Oracle Code by Marieke Nijkamp

March 10th, 2020

"After a gunshot leaves her paralyzed, Barbara Gordon enters the Arkham Center for Independence, where Gotham's teens undergo physical and mental rehabilitation. Now using a wheelchair, Barbara must adapt to a new normal, but she cannot shake the feeling that something is dangerously amiss. Within these walls, strange sounds escape at night; patients go missing; and Barbara begins to put together pieces of what she believes to be a larger puzzle. But is this suspicion simply a result of her trauma? Fellow patients try to connect with Barbara, but she pushes them away, and she'd rather spend time with ghost stories than participate in her daily exercises. Even Barbara's own judgment is in question. In The Oracle Code, universal truths cannot be escaped, and Barbara Gordon must battle the phantoms of her past before they swarm her future."


Ah yes, here's another one of those COOL AF graphic novels DC announced recently. This one follows Oracle, aka Barbara Gordon, one of my favorite people ever. She's a bounding member of The Birds of Prey and the original Batgirl, as well as being the number one expert in computers and hacking for both the entire Justice League. She's basically the best character ever and I'm never forgiving DC for forgetting that she was disabled in Rebirth. Well, I might forgive them, because they are giving me this absolute gem of a story. This story looks fantastic, has such an interesting art style. I cannot wait to see more of the amazing, wonderful Barbara Gordon!


7. The Lost Carnival: A Dick Grayson Graphic Novel by Michael Moreci

May 5th, 2020

"Haly's traveling circus no longer has the allure of its glamorous past, but it still has one main attraction: the Flying Graysons, a family of trapeze artists starring a teenage Dick Grayson. The only problem is that Dick loathes spending his summers performing tired routines for a dwindling crowd. When the Lost Carnival, a wild and enchanting new attraction, opens nearby and threatens to pull Haly's remaining customers, Dick is among those drawn to its magical nighttime glow. But there are forces ancient and dangerous at work at the Lost Carnival, and when Dick meets the mysterious Luciana and her carnival workers--each stranger than the last--he may be too mesmerized to recognize the danger ahead. Beneath the carnival's dazzling fireworks, Dick must decide who he is and who he wants to be--choosing between loyalty to his family history and a glittering future with new friends and romance."


Honestly, my only reaction to seeing anything with Dick Grayson ever will be to scream "Look at him!!! Look at my boy!!!" at everyone who will deign to listen to me, and this graphic novel is no different. I mean, can you blame me? That cover is absolutely GORGEOUS, I want to buy 300 prints of it to wallpaper my dorm with. It also features my favorite comic book character ever, no holds barred: Dick Grayson, the first son of Batman, the first Robin, Nightwing, the Boy Wonder. He's beautiful and perfect and wonderful and I don't know how you can read about him and not all in love with him instantly. This art is gorgeous and the story is so intriguing, and Dick's in it, so what's not to love?


8. The Trouble with Hating You by Sajni Patel

May 12th, 2020

"Liya Thakkar is a successful biochemical engineer, takeout enthusiast, and happily single woman. The moment she realizes her parents' latest dinner party is a setup with the man they want her to marry, she's out the back door in a flash. Imagine her surprise when the same guy shows up at her office a week later -- the new lawyer hired to save her struggling company. What's not surprising: he's not too thrilled to see her either after that humiliating fiasco. Jay Shah looks good on paper...and off. Especially if you like that whole gorgeous, charming lawyer-in-a-good-suit thing. He's also arrogant and infuriating. As their witty office banter turns into late night chats, Liya starts to think he might be the one man who truly accepts her. But falling for each other means exposing their painful pasts. Will Liya keep running, or will she finally give love a real chance?"


This book looks so freaking amazing. First, the cover, which just looks desi and fun and inviting. This story reads like a desi drama, which I mean in the best possible way (think Zindagi Gulzar Hai or Humsafar, and not at all Kyunki Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu Thi or Yeh Hai Mohabbatein). It's rivals to friends to lovers with Gujju characters, and it's going to be fluffy and funny and I cannot wait until May, someone please get me an ARC of this book! I deserve it!


9. The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar

May 12th, 2020

"When Nishat comes out to her parents, they say she can be anyone she wants—as long as she isn’t herself. Because Muslim girls aren’t lesbians. Nishat doesn’t want to hide who she is, but she also doesn’t want to lose her relationship with her family. And her life only gets harder once a childhood friend walks back into her life. Flávia is beautiful and charismatic and Nishat falls for her instantly. But when a school competition invites students to create their own businesses, both Flávia and Nishat choose to do henna, even though Flávia is appropriating Nishat’s culture. Amidst sabotage and school stress, their lives get more tangled—but Nishat can’t quite get rid of her crush on Flávia, and realizes there might be more to her than she realized."


This book is going to murder me, in a really, really good way. Amazing beautiful gay girls? Mehendi? Childhood friends to enemies to friends to lovers? This is going to be such an awesome ride. Plus look at this amazing amazing cover! I identify hard with Nishat, though I doubt I have the strength to ever come out quite yet. I cannot wait to read all about her journey, which hopefully will inspire me and bring me courage. I've followed Adiba on twitter for a while and have been hearing about this story for a while, and each time only made me more excited to get to read it. These are the kinds of stories I need, as a sapphic desi teen, and I know this book is going to mean so much to so many girls like me around the world. I cannot wait to get my hands on this book.


10. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

May 19th, 2020

"The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes will revisit the world of Panem sixty-four years before the events of The Hunger Games, starting on the morning of the reaping of the Tenth Hunger Games."


You know, I don't think I really have to explain this one. It kind of feels like the whole world is anticipating this book if I'm being honest. I've seen some speculation that it's Haymitch's book, which would be amazing, but either way, I'm excited to step back into this world and enjoy Suzanne Collins' writing again!



11. The Archer at Dawn by Swati Teerdhala

May 26th, 2020

"The Sun Mela is many things: a call for peace, a cause for celebration, and, above all, a deadly competition. For Kunal and Esha, finally working together as rebel spies, it provides the perfect guise to infiltrate King Vardaan’s vicious court. Kunal will return to his role as dedicated Senap soldier, at the Sun Mela to provide extra security for the palace during the peace summit for the divided nations of Jansa and Dharka. Meanwhile, Esha will use her new role as adviser to Prince Harun to keep a pulse on shifting political parties and seek out allies for their rebel cause. A radical plan is underfoot to rescue Jansa’s long-lost Princess Reha—the key to the stolen throne. But amid the Mela games and glittering festivities, much more dangerous forces lie in wait. With the rebel Blades’ entry into Vardaan’s court, a match has been lit, and long-held secrets will force Kunal and Esha to reconsider their loyalties—to their country and to each other. Getting into the palace was the easy task; coming out together will be a battle for their lives."


This is the second book in The Tiger at Midnight Trilogy. The first book was my absolute FAVORITE read of 2019. The first book was rich and vibrant and beautiful and I've raved about it over and over on twitter and even on this blog before. The ending was intriging and confusing and I cannot wait for this book. I get to see my favorites Esha and Kunal again, and I get to live in this world again, and I need to get more people to read the first book in the lead up to this coming out, because I will have so many emotions as I read this and I'll need an outlet to tell at people about how many emotions I'm having. I absolutely can not wait, and please read The Tiger at Midnight asap!


12. 10 Things I Hate About Pinky by Sandhya Menon

June 30th 2020

"Pinky Kumar wears the social justice warrior badge with pride. From raccoon hospitals to persecuted rock stars, no cause is too esoteric for her to champion. But a teeny-tiny part of her also really enjoys making her conservative, buttoned-up corporate lawyer parents cringe. Samir Jha might have a few . . . quirks remaining from the time he had to take care of his sick mother, like the endless lists he makes in his planner and the way he schedules every minute of every day, but those are good things. They make life predictable and steady. Pinky loves lazy summers at her parents’ Cape Cod lake house, but after listening to them harangue her about the poor decisions (aka boyfriends) she’s made, she hatches a plan. Get her sorta-friend-sorta-enemy, Samir—who is a total Harvard-bound Mama’s boy—to pose as her perfect boyfriend for the summer. As they bicker their way through lighthouses and butterfly habitats, sparks fly, and they both realize this will be a summer they'll never forget."


Can you believe we're blessed with TWO Sandhya Menon books this year? This is the third book in the When Dimple Met Rishi universe, and I am absolutely thrilled. This cover follows the amazing tradition in this series to feature brown girls being unabashedly happy and smiling. Pinky was such a brilliant character from There's Something About Sweetie and her story is going to be fantastic. I mean, fake dating? Cute dorky desi guys and their strong badass girlfriends? Sign me up. This book is going to look awesome on my shelf next to my other Sandhya Menon books!


13. Star Daughter by Shveta Thakrar

August 11th, 2020

"The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. But when a flare of starfire injures her human father, Sheetal needs a full star's help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago. Sheetal's quest will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must act as her family's champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens—or risk never returning to Earth at all."


First of all, I have to say–holy shit look at this cover. I want it imprinted on my eyeballs so I can look at it literally all the time. I can honestly just tell that this book is going to mess my up, in such a good way. This book is going to be full of poetry and Hindu mythology and it's going to be such a rich tapestry, just as beautiful as this cover implies. I've followed this author on twitter for a while too, and I've been hearing about this book for a while, and everything oly makes me more excited to read it. I want to luxuriate in this book, to let is take me away into a dream world of stars. August can't get here fast enough.


14. Return of the Thief by Megan Whalen Turner

August 25th, 2020

"Neither accepted nor beloved, Eugenides is the uneasy linchpin of a truce on the Lesser Peninsula, where he has risen to be high king of Attolia, Eddis, and Sounis. As the treacherous Baron Erondites schemes anew and a prophecy appears to foretell the death of the king, the ruthless Mede empire prepares to strike. The New York Times–bestselling Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations, divine intervention, dangerous journeys, battles lost and won, power, passion, and deception."


Well, here it is. If you know me at all, you knew this book was coming. This book is the much awaited (delayed over a year) conclusion to my favorite series in the entire world, The Queen's Thief series. I can't explain how much I love. love love these books, and how much I love these characters and this world. I was devastated when this book was pushed back, but the new release date is drawing ever closer and every time I think about this book, I get so excited I have to try and convince more people to read this series. If you like smart characters, high fantasy, political intrigue, beautiful worldbuilding, and some of the most compelling characters ever, please please read this series! Seriously, I'm begging you, not enough people talk about this series and it makes me upset okay.


15. The Silvered Serpents by Roshani Chokshi

September 22nd, 2020

"Séverin and his team members might have successfully thwarted the Fallen House, but victory came at a terrible cost ― one that still haunts all of them. Desperate to make amends, Séverin pursues a dangerous lead to find a long lost artifact rumoured to grant its possessor the power of God. Their hunt lures them far from Paris, and into icy heart of Russia where crystalline ice animals stalk forgotten mansions, broken goddesses carry deadly secrets, and a string of unsolved murders makes the crew question whether an ancient myth is a myth after all. As hidden secrets come to the light and the ghosts of the past catch up to them, the crew will discover new dimensions of themselves. But what they find out may lead them down paths they never imagined."


The Gilded Wolves was absolute perfection and I will defend it for the rest of my life. Also the fact that I got denied for an ARC of this book is just cruel, in my opinion. I adored the first book. It was rich an heavenly and made me so, so happy. However, the ending made me slightly enraged and upset, because I needed book 2 right away, and had to wait way too long to get it. This book is still too far away in my opinion. Does someone want to lend me an ARC, perhaps? Oh well, I don't mind waiting, because I know it's going to be amazing and wonderful and I'm going to get to fall in love all over again as soon as I read it!

 

So there we have it! Those are my 15 most anticipated books of 2020! I'm wishing you all a very happy reading year, may 2020 be filled with five star reads and glowing reviews! What are some of your most anticipated books?


I will be trying to blog more as the year goes on, so please subscribe, and thank you for reading!

33 views0 comments
bottom of page