top of page
  • Writer's pictureAayushi

5 Books That Make Me Feel Like Taemin's Criminal MV Does: Luxurious and Terrified

Updated: Sep 13, 2020

So first of, I have to say, I know it's been four months. I could blame the reading slump, the pandemic, my steadily declining mental health all in equal measure. But hopefully I'm back for real now!


One thing that has happened during this never ending quarantine is my vague casual enjoyment of kpop has blossomed into a real interest. I wont get into why or who I follow because you likely don't care, but if this post interests people I will try to follow up with more like it based on my favorite kpop mvs!


Lee Taemin, a member of kpop group Shinee and an amazing solo artist, just came out with a new album, and the music video for his title track, Criminal, absolutely blew me away. The visuals are luxurious, bright, and a little bit unsettling, and the music is brilliant as always.


Here's some of my favorite screenshots from the sets or scenes:


The urge to read or write a book about a roguish thief stealing from the palace or a dangerous bored prince with magic powers trying to take over the world is REAL, and that's even before I looked up the lyrics.


So, to satisfy my craving and make a crossover of two things I love, I present 5 books that just feel like the Criminal MV!


1. The Young Elites by Marie Lu


The Young Elites is a fantasy book written by the legendary Marie Lu, which literally blew my mind when I first read it. The story follows Adelina Amouteru, a noble girl who is deemed a malfetto after she survives a blood fever that swept through the nation, leaving her with visible scars and silver hair. Some of these survivors have developed extraordinary powers, known as the Young Elites, and fear of them has turned the royal family against all malfettos. When Adelina is recruited to the Dagger Society, a group wanting justice for the abused and mistreated malfettos in society, her inner darkness is brought out, along with powers that could destroy them all.


The Young Elites is a fantastic fantasy story with unbelievable worldbuilding and deliciously well crafted characters. Every decision the main three characters make feels justified and real, making perfect sense no matter how frustrating they might be. I adored this book and I am waiting on that library hold for The Rose Society to come through so I can finish the series.


I put this book on the list because of the worldbuilding. The backdrop or royalty and rebellion, dark powers, uncertain and terrifying, all fit well with my first impression of the gorgeous music video. Taemin, though he doesn't look like him, gives me the same vibes as Enzo, and I love it. I want to imagine some of the sets in the mv as coming straught from this book.


2. The Gilded Wolves by Roshani Chokshi


The Gilded Wolves, on top of having the most beautiful cover ever (all those gold details are raised and it looks even better in person) is one of the most luxurious, lush fantasy novels I've ever read, and is one of my favorites.


The books is set in an alternate universe version of 1889 France, where magic exists as a product of the mysterious Babel fragments. When treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier Séverin Montagnet-Alarie is given the chance to seize his birthright, taken from him by the Order of Babel, he collects his team to pull of their biggest heist yet.


This book makes my head spin with how goergoes it is. Reading it feels kind of like being draped in velvet and silk. I love every single one of the characters in this book. They all feel so complex and physical, and I'm kind of in love with all of them. The amount of rep that is naturally woven into this book makes me so happy, seeing this alternate universe where these colonized people seize their own powers in the most elite section of the world is delicious.


This book made it on the list for the worldbuilding, once again. The sets could have come straight out of Séverin's hotel or the ballrooms and treasure rooms where they perform their heists. The danger and darkness is also there, lurking like in the MV. Plus with Taemin's velvety vocals I could reread this book with Criminal playing in the background on repeat the whole time.


3. Enchantée by Gita Trelease


Enchantée is another book that drew me in with its gorgeous cover and sucked me in impeccably crafted worldbuilding. I'm obsessed with magic systems and I loved the one developed in this book.


The books is set during the court of Marie Antoinette, in a Paris on the verge of revolution. In order to survive and take care of her family, Camille Durbonne uses the petty magic to help her family survive. However, when that isn't enough, she has to go all out, transforming herself into a Baroness in the Palace of Versailles to cheat nobles out of money in cards. However, as the tensions between the opulence of the palace and the poor on the streets erupts, and Camille must face the consequences of her web of secrets.


This book truly charmed me when I read it, the characters, their dynamics, and the stark contrast of the palace and Camille's desperation creating a fast paced, completely mesmerizing story.


It's on this list because of that contrast, the terrified desperation of Camille mixing with the opulent visuals of the Palace of Versailles, which truly looks like the inspiration for some of the more flower filled and golden decorated scenes in this MV.


4. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh


This book was one of the books that got me into being in the book community, and I'm more than a little obsessed with it.


In this retelling of 1001 Nights, Caliph of Khorasan has taken a new wife every night, only to have her executed the very next day. Shahrzad, who volunteers to be the wife of the Caliph of Khorasan, is doing so with only one goal in mind: to end the man who had her best friend executed. She manages to survive her first day, and the next, and the next. As Khalid's past and motivations are revealed, will he remain a murderous madman in her eyes?


This book is my favorite romance fantasy ever, I think. It's grogeous and the relationship between Shahrzad and Khalid grips me every single time I reread it.


This book has made this list basically mostly because of how the mv reminded me of this quote from it:

“What are you doing to me, you plague of a girl?” he whispered.
“If I’m a plague, then you should keep your distance, unless you plan on being destroyed.” The weapons still in her grasp, she shoved against his chest.
“No.” His hands dropped to her waist. “Destroy me.”

When the music drops out and Taemin whispers "Destroy me more" directly in my ear, I felt it, just like I felt that quote.



5. The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner


Anyone who knows me knows that I am fully obsessed with this whole series. No other fantasy series has ever got me to connect with every character presented, adore the worldbuilding, and scream over impeccable plot twists like this series.


The Queen of Attolia centers on the thief Eugenides whose increasingly dangerous brushes with the enigmatic Queen of Attolia culminate in his capture. When Eugenides loses what he values most in the world, a chain reaction in set off that could impact all three of the countries on the little peninsula.


I cannot go into detail because the plot twists really hold a lot of the main sway in reading this book and it's hard to explain without revealing things. However, I've screaming about why you should all read The Queen's Thief series here, because it's wonderful and amazing and deserves recognition.


I chose this book in the series because the lyrics of the song really make me feel things about Eugenides and Attolia's relationship and how those dynamic work out during and after his capture. It's gorgeous and the idea of a thief living in luxury but clearly dangerous and cunning really makes me think of Eugenides.

 

So that was my list of 5 books that make me feel the same way Taemin's Criminal MV makes me feel! Here's the full MV which you should all check out because Taemin is a wonderful amazing artist and this MV makes me feel like I'm floating on clouds.

Let me know what you think about this being maybe a regular series on this blog, what you think about these books, and any other book with this vibe!


I hope you have an amazing day!

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page